Tatakai no Banka [Model CAP-TA]

Nintendo Famicom cart. published 38 years ago by Capcom Co., Ltd.

Listed in MAME

Tatakai no Banka [Model CAP-TA] screenshot

闘いの挽歌 © 1986 Capcom Company, Limited.
(Tatakai no Banka)

Tatakai no Banka is a side scrolling action game by Capcom, and conversion of an arcade game of the same name originally released in 1986. The game is set in the near future where human civilization has been lost - warlords from enchant times have risen from the dead and plunged the world into a dreadful war and into darkness. In this post-apocalyptic wasteland, it's up to a small group of resistance fighters to protect humanity from total annihilation. The player takes control of Ryu, a lone warrior who sets on a journey to infiltrate the enemy's hideout and to defeat the enemy's leader - the evil Akiresu (aka 'Achilles'). He comes equipped with a lethal sword and a shield - this weapon combination is at the core of the gameplay, and the player must strategically block attacks and projectiles before inflicting any damage in order to survive. A sharp blow can also send both weapons flying out of his grasp, forcing him to fight with his bare hands and feet until he recovers them. Various items are hidden throughout the game, such as winged hearts (health), shoes (high jumps), keys (unlock doors) and the extremely rare power icons (upgrade the sword) and speed icon (increases running speed). Some are dropped by defeated enemies, whereas other are hidden inside underground rooms or booby-trapped bonus urns. Tatakai no Banka features seven stages (the first six are divided into two sections each), a two-alternating player mode and an one-on-one two players versus mode.

Goodies for Tatakai no Banka [Model CAP-TA]
Click to enlarge
(members only)

Cartridge ID: CAP-TA


Tatakai no Banka was released on December 24, 1986 in Japan for 5500 Yen.

Tatakai no Banka (which translates as 'The elegy of battle') was an arcade game originally released in 1986. The Famicom version seems to be the only home conversion ever made until the original arcade game was eventually included in the Capcom Classics Collection released for the Playstation 2 in 2006. This 8-bit port shows significant differences - the arcade game featured special tiles (such as high jumps) which were replaced by traditional powerups, and secret underground rooms were also scattered around the game. Finally, the progress-map and the two-player versus mode are exclusive to the Famicom port. Interestingly, Ryu's alter ego is called Trojan in the Japanese version, which also became the name of the main character in the American and European versions of the game, where he is simply described as the 'Trojan Warrior'.


* Continues: After getting a Game Over, wait until the game returns to the title screen. There, hold up and press start to continue where you died.


Game's ROM.
Game's description by Laurent Kermel; http://www.videogameden.com