Members don't see Ads, login now! LoginRegisterContact

Operation Wolf 3

Arcade Video game published 30 years ago by Taito Corp.

Listed in MAME

Operation Wolf 3 screenshot

Operation Wolf 3 © 1994 Taito Corp.

Operation Wolf 3 is a light-gun controlled shoot-em-up in which a terrorist organization known as 'SKULL' has taken over an island and are armed with nuclear missiles. Two agents, codenamed 'Hornet' and 'Queen Bee' (players one and two respectively) are dispatched by the United Nations taskforce, 'Federation for Freedom', and must take down the SKULL organisation and disarm the nuclear missiles.

Unlike the limited ammo found in the first game in the series, players now have unlimited ammo. As long as the trigger is squeezed, weapons will fire on full automatic. Once the ammo meter is depleted, the rate of fire decreases sharply. When the trigger is released, the meter instantly refills. Players can also carry a limited supply of grenades, although only three bombs can be carried at any one time, as opposed to the nine of the first game. As players progress through the stages, various power-ups can be found, such as stronger weapons and extra grenades.

A bonus round appears after every second stage. This consists of a shooting gallery and players must hit as many targets as possible to earn bonus points.

The game's five stages are:
* Warehouse
* Expressway
* Wasteland
* The Tower of Them (Missile silo)
* Final stage - A nuclear missile has launched and must be destroyed mid-flight.

Goodies for Operation Wolf 3
Click to enlarge
(members only)

Game ID : D74

Main CPU : Motorola 68000 (@ 14.346 Mhz)
Sound CPU : Zilog Z80 (@ 4 Mhz)
Sound Chips : Yamaha YM2610B (@ 8 Mhz)

Players : 2
Control : Lightgun
Buttons : 2
=> Shoot, Grenade


Operation Wolf 3 was released in September 1994.

This arcade machine came in 2 different styles. Alternate artwork and alternate guns colour.


Cast : Eigo Okajima, Katuhiro Hirano, Satoru Komiya, Toshihiro Kimura, Masaru Tamura, Naoaki Wataya as Terrolists
Direct of Photography : Eigo Okajima
Design all Characters : Masaru Tamura
Design OP & ED : Saori Ohkura
Design title & Capture : Saori Ohkura
Design 1st Scene : Masaru Tamura, Natuko Tanahara
Design 2nd Scene : Masaru Tamura, Natuko Tanahara, Saori Ohkura
Extra Scene : Masaru Tamura
Design 3rd, 4th & Final Scene : Naoaki Wataya
States : Natuko Tanahara, Saori Ohkura
Effects : Masaru Tamura, Naoaki Wataya
All Mechanics : Naoaki Wataya
Program Event : Katuhiko Hirano, Satoru Komiya
Program 1st Scene : Katuhiko Hirano
Program 2nd & 4th Scene : Satoru Komiya
Program Extra & Final Scene : Toshihiro Kimura
Program 3rd Scene : Katuhiko Hirano, Toshihiro Kimura
System : Katuhiko Hirano
Music by : Hiroshi Tuda
Planned by : Eigo Okajima


Game's manual.
Game's picture.
Game's ROMs.
Game's screenshots.