Members don't see Ads, login now! LoginRegisterContact

Namco Classics Collection Vol.1

Arcade Video game published 29 years ago by NAMCO, Ltd.

Listed in MAME

Namco Classics Collection Vol.1 screenshot

Namco Classics Collection Vol.1 © 1995 Namco, Limited.

Awesome collection of classic Namco games ("Galaga", "Xevious" and "Mappy") with original and updated 'arrangement' versions available. Additionally "Super Xevious" is available as well.

Goodies for Namco Classics Collection Vol.1
Click to enlarge
(members only)

Namco System ND-1 hardware
Game ID : NC

Main CPU : Motorola 68000 (@ 12.288 Mhz), H8/3002 (@ 16.384 Mhz)
Sound Chips : C352 (@ 16.384 Mhz)

Players : 2
Control : 8-way joystick
Buttons : 2


Namco Classics Collection Vol.1 was released in November 1995.


* Secret Message in Xevious : The programmer has included a trick for generating a message right at the beginning of the game. When Solvalou appears, move to the right edge of the screen, wait a few seconds and drop a single bomb as soon as the music changes (after the long note).
The arrangement version uses a different music, you need to drop a single bomb when you hear the 12th beat, or when the first set of ring-shaped spaceships has reached the same height of your crosshair.
In original version / normal mode, the message 'Namco ORIGINAL Program by EVEZOO' will appear on the screen.
In original version / super mode, the message is 'Special thanks for you by game designer Evezoo'.
In arrangement version, the message is 'This game is dedicated to the original XEVIOUS staff'.

* Xevious Arrangement, Extra Area :
Extra Area 1 - Finish Area 16 without continue.
Extra Area 2 - Finish Extra Area 1 without death.
Extra Area 3 - Get 60 Sols.

* Xevious Arrangement, Maniac Mode : You will play with harder rank.
1. Get secret message in Area 1 forest. (Keep firing the Blaster at left end)
2. Take out 2 Sols in Area 1.
3. Get ''Secret Message'' in forest (see the first trick to perform it).

* Galaga Arrangement, Time Attack Mode : Input code Left, Right, Left, Right, Button1, Button2, Button1, Button 2 on the Galaga Arrangement title screen.


Game arrangement : Kohji Kenjoh, Taka Yamamura, T. Iguchi
Game programmers : Yoshihito Iwanaga, Takashi Koshigoe
System programmer : Tsukka
Visual designers : Semushi Komoriya, Fukuokachanpe-, Imaizumi Bakarashi
Graphic designer : Akira Usukura
Logo designer : Hideaki Ito
Sound : Hiroto Sasaki (Saman)
Hardware ND-1 development : Shin' Ichi ' Yosiho' Ohki
Custom 'Risa' designer : Makoto Inoue
Sound driver development : Hira


* Consoles :
japan Sony PlayStation (mar.28, 1997) "Xevious 3D/G+ [Model SLPS-00750]" : Xevious Arrangement
usa Sony PlayStation (june.30, 1997) "Xevious 3D/G+ [Model SLUS-00461]" : Xevious Arrangement
europe Sony PlayStation (aug.1997) "Xevious 3D/G+ [Model SCES-00736]" : Xevious Arrangement
usa Sony PS2 (dec.4, 2001) "Namco Museum [Model SLUS-20273]" : Galaga Arrangement
usa Microsoft XBOX (oct.9, 2002) "Namco Museum" : Galaga Arrangement
usa Nintendo GameCube (oct.9, 2002) "Namco Museum [Model DOL-GNME-USA]" : Galaga Arrangement


Game's manual.
Game's picture.
Game's ROMs.
Game's screenshots.
See goodies section.