Members don't see Ads, login now! LoginRegisterContact

Dragon Spirit [Model NC63003]

NEC PC-Engine HuCARD published 36 years ago by NAMCOT

Listed in MAME

Dragon Spirit [Model NC63003] screenshot

Dragon Spirit © 1988 NAMCOT.

Dragon Spirit is a vertical shooter by namco and conversion of the arcade game of the same name originally released in 1987. Alicia, the princess of the Mitgult kingdom, has been kidnaped by the demonic serpent king Zawel. Learning of her kidnapping, a courageous knight called Amul comes to her rescue. The young warrior begs the heavens to usher him into his quest, and, as he is about to start his journey, he points his sword to the sky and a lightning bolt turns him into a powerful and great fire-breathing blue dragon. Dragon Spirit uses a gameplay formula laid down by other Namco's classics such as "Xevious" - the dragon can fire upon air and ground targets alike, giving the action additional strategy and depth. Additionally, two kinds of colored magic eggs are scattered throughout the game - bombs can crack them open, thus releasing two power-orbs, Increased Power (red) or Additional Head/Increased Firepower (blue). Although the blue upgrades automatically add a head to the dragon (and increase its firepower up to three times total), the red power-orbs need to be collected in groups of three before they do. Additionally, flashing enemies release all kind of special items when killed, from alternate dragon forms, Speed Ups (S), Three Way Shots (W), Multi Way Shots (X), Power-Down (skull) or Extra Lives (three have to be collected though, and they come in the shape of dragon eggs that need to hatch). Dragon spirit consists of eight levels and is single-player only.


Game ID: NC63003


Dragon Spirit was an arcade game originally released in 1987. This PC Engine version of Dragon Spirit is very faithful to the original arcade game, however it shows some notable differences. Namco must have had some problems fitting the game onto a 2 Mbits HuCard and they had to cut some content from the original arcade game. The most obvious is the omission of the short introduction sequence, where Amul raises his sword to the sky and transforms into a dragon - although it is one of Dragon Spirit's signature feature (and was even included in the Famicom port!), it was completely removed from the PC Engine version. Finally, some of the later levels didn't make the cut - the seventh (underwater ocean) and eight levels (ocean trench) are gone and were replaced by a castle level which ends with a new boss (a three headed golden monster based on the first boss).


* Arcade mode:
Hold Select and press Run to reset the game. Do this operation fifty seven times (you can just hold select and keep pressing Run) to start the game in arcade mode.

* Sound Test Screen:
At the title screen, press Left, Right, Down, Up, Select and Left. This should open the Sound Test screen (picture on the right).

* Hundred Continues:
At the title screen, quickly press Down, Right, Select, Down, II, Down, I, Left, Select, Up and I. A sound should confirm that the cheat has been activated.


Character Design: Macchan, Arakawa Da!
Music Composer: Megaten Hosoe, Astron Ishii, Kawagen, Thunder Nogushi
Main Programmer: Otenba Kid
Guest Programmer: Hal/Uda
Sound Programmer: Yoshi Kabasan
Producer: Greatist Asayan
Special Thanks to: Kyonta, Kazuchan, Yohkun


Nintendo Wii [Virtual Console] europe (jul.
6, 2007) "Dragon Spirit [Model PBAP]"
Nintendo Wii [Virtual Console] usa (jul.2, 2007) "Dragon Spirit [Model PBAE]"
Nintendo Wii [Virtual Console] australia (aug.10, 2007)
Nintendo Wii [Virtual Console] japan (nov.13, 2007) "Dragon Spirit [Model PBAJ]"


Game's ROM.
Game's description by Laurent Kermel;