beatmania 4thMix the beat goes on

Arcade Video game published 25 years ago by Konami Co., Ltd.

Listed in MAME

beatmania 4thMix the beat goes on screenshot

beatmania 4thMix the beat goes on © 1999 Konami Company, Limited.

Follow along with the song by scratching the turntable and pressing the keys as the bars reach the bottom of the screen. If you manage to successfully hit each note on-key perfectly, a combo meter will go up, increasing your score. Do well enough by the end of the song, and you can progress to the next level.


Konami Bemani DJ-Main Hardware
Game ID : GX847

CPU : MC68EC020FG25 @ 25MHz
Custom Chips : 058143, 056832, 055555, 056766, 058141, and KS10101
Sound : Custom Konami Sound Chips for Multiple Sound Channels
Res : 24kHz 512x384
Drives : Pop'N Music use 3.5inch IDE-HDD, all other games use 2.5inch.
Roms : Program and graphics on EEPROM.

Players : 2
Control : dial
Buttons : 5


Released in April 1999.

Konami released a limited-edition soundtrack album for this game (beatmania 4th Mix Original Soundtracks - KMCA-1) on 17/06/1999.


* Complete Song List Choice Mode (including Hidden Songs) : All songs can be selected from the beginning in BASIC and HARD modes.
1) Insert coin(s).
2) Press 1-5-4-3-4-3-4-1-2-1-1-5-4-3-4-3-4-1-2-1-1 on the 2P keyboard (This is the notes from 'Deep In You').
3) Press Start while holding down Effect and buttons 2-4 on the 1P keyboard.

* Hidden Stages :
1) Insert coin(s).
2) Press 1-4-3-5-2-4-1-5 on the 2P keyboard (This is the notes from 'Paranoia Max').
3) Press Start while holding down the Effect button.

* Changing The Frame Colour : During MODE SELECT, pressing the Start button will change the screens frame colour with each press. Each press will change the frame to the following colours : Grey >> Gold >> Red >> Blue >> Green >> White >> Brown >> Scarlet >> Black >> Magenta >> Purple.

* Mirror Play :
1) Insert coin(s).
2) Turn the 2P turntable anti-clockwise three times.
3) Press Start.

* Random Play :
1) Insert coin(s).
2) Turn the 2P turntable clockwise three times.
3) Press Start.


1. beatmania (1997)
2. beatmania 2ndMix (1998)
3. beatmania 3rdMix (1998)
4. beatmania complete MIX (1999)
5. beatmania 4thMix the beat goes on (1999)
6. beatmania 5thMix Time to get down (1999)
7. beatmania complete MIX 2 (2000)
8. beatmania ClubMix (2000)
9. beatmania featuring Dreams Come True (2000)
10. beatmania CORE REMIX (2000)
11. beatmania 6thMix The UK Underground Music (2001)
12. beatmania 7thMix keepin' Evolution (2002)
13. beatmania THE FINAL (2002)


Producer : Koji Okamoto
Director : Seiji Higurashi
Planner : Mizking F
Sound director : Takehiko Fujii
Sound superviser : Reo Nagumo
Programmer : Hideki Hashimoto
CG designers : Hotaru Komatsu, Hideko Shigeta, Mizking F, Satoshi Higashida (KCEJ), Hajime Yashiro (KCEJ)
Hardware engineer : Masayuki Senami
Mechanical engineers : Yuichiro Sagawa, Toshiharu Miura
Graphic designers : Noriyuki Yokoki, Mayu Sugiyama
Composers : Larry Dunn, GTS, Monday Michiru, Yasushi Kurobane, Takumi Iwasaki, Bebe, Hiroshi Watarai, Deep Emotion, Dj Oddball, Mitsukuni Murayama, Kouichi Yamazaki, Reo Nagumo, Takehiko Fujii, Takayuki Ishikawa, Hiroyuki Togo (KCEJ)
NM Sequence unlimited (AMD), D&G Music Factory (AMD)
Sound data analyzer : Ryuichi Nitta
Vocalists & Rappers : Larry Dunn, Monday Michiru, Melodie Sexton, Megumi Oka, Scotty D., Bebe, Andrea Robinson
Dancers : Nami, Wan-Chan
Mixing engineers : Masaki Takamura (Onkio Haus), Toshihiro Hayano (Kim Studio)
Japanese-English translator : Justin Lazaroff


Sony PlayStation (1999, "BeatMania Append 4th Mix")


Game's screenshots.
Game's picture.
Game's ROM.
Official website: http://www.konami.jp/am/bm/4th/