Splatterhouse - Wanpaku Graffiti

Nintendo Famicom cart. published 32 years ago by NAMCO

Splatterhouse - Wanpaku Graffiti screenshot

Listed and emulated in MAME !

Splatterhouse - Wanpaku Graffiti (c) 1989 Namco, Limited.

Splatterhouse Wanpaku Graffiti is a cute side scrolling action-platformer by Namco and based on the arcade game Spatterhouse originally released in 1988. During a stormy night, in a town cemetery, the blond Jennifer kneels over her boyfriend's grave, shedding tears for Rick, her beloved companion. Suddenly, lightning strikes and revives him, but their happiness was not destined to last long and another bolt of lightning strikes and revives the evil Pumpkin King! The demonic monster kidnaps Jennifer and Rick must now go and save the poor damsel. Rick comes equipped with the Splatterhouse traditional terror mask and is armed with a meat cleaver (although a particularly powerful shotgun is also available later in the game). Interestingly, Rick doesn't really pick up power ups (except for a few health items) and levels up by gaining experience points from killing enemies while making his way through the game. A number at the top of the screen indicates how many enemies need to be killed before the next level, and bosses reward a lot more experience points than the average foes. Splatterhouse Wanpaku Graffiti is packed with references to countless horror movies or shows from the 80s, such as a Vampire who goes on a Michael Jackson's Thriller dance routine with his troupe of zombie dancers, and the list goes on, from Alien, Friday the 13th to The Fly or the Exoscist. Splatterhouse Wanpaku Graffiti consists of seven levels and a short four digits password is given to the player at the end of each stage (however, Rick will lose all of his meticulously gained life when a password is used).

Goodies for Splatterhouse - Wanpaku Graffiti
Click to enlarge
(members only)

Released on July 31, 1989 in Japan.

The game was never released outside Japan.


* Passwords:
Level 2 - 1055
Level 3 - 3739
Level 4 - 8245
Level 5 - 4722
Level 6 - 7397
Level 7 - 8671


Planner: Maguma Taiji
Programmer: Silky Deguchi, Myt Juso
Character: Oni Taiji, Juncha, Baguchan, Hidebou
Music: Anna Puruna
Special thanks: Nobotan, Yappy, Princess Ki, Kazuu
Producer: JJ Page


Game's ROM.
Game's description by Laurent Kermel; http://www.videogameden.com