G-LOC Air Battle

Arcade Video game published 32 years ago by SEGA Enterprises

Listed in MAME

G-LOC Air Battle screenshot

G-LOC Air Battle © 1990 Sega.

A direct sequel to 1987's "After Burner", G-loc adopts its predecessor's action-packed, if somewhat limited, gameplay, although the game's pace has been noticeably reduced, making survival more a matter of skill than the shoot-and-hope gameplay of "After Burner".

The bulk of G-Loc's action is viewed from a first-person, in-cockpit view, but, at certain points of the game, the viewpoint switches to the familiar third-person perspective of "After Burner", as the player's jet fighter is tailed by an enemy fighter. The player must roll and turn to shake off the pursuer, once this is achieved the game switches back to first-person perspective.

The object of the game is to shoot a set number of enemy planes as they approach from front and behind; rolling and swerving to avoid incoming enemy fire. Certain stages feature ground-based enemy installations which must also be destroyed. The player's jet fighter is armed with both a machine gun, and a limited supply of missiles which can be 'locked-on' to enemy targets. G-Loc's levels take the player through a variety of different landscapes, including wide, rolling plains and rock-strewn canyons. Later in the game, the player must attempt to land their fighter onto an aircraft carrier. Failure to do so results in the game ending.

Goodies for G-LOC Air Battle
Click to enlarge
(members only)

Sega Y Board hardware

Main CPU : (3x) 68000 (@ 12.5 Mhz)
Sound CPU : Zilog Z80 (@ 4 Mhz)
Sound Chips : Yamaha YM2151 (@ 4 Mhz), Sega (@ 4 Mhz)

Players : 1
Control : stick
Buttons : 3


G-Loc Air Battle was released in April 1990 in Japan.

'G-Loc' means 'G-induced Loss Of Consciousness'; the subtitle on the arcade flyer is 'Loss of Consciousness by G-force'.

An enhanced version of 'G-Loc - Air Battle', known as "R360 - G-Loc Air Battle" can be seen on Sega's R-360 flight simulator.

Goodies for G-LOC Air Battle
Click to see more
(members only)

1. After Burner (1987, Arcade)
2. After Burner II (1987, Arcade)
3. G-Loc - Air Battle (1990, Arcade)
4. R360 - G-Loc Air Battle (1990, Arcade)
5. Strike Fighter (1991, Arcade)
6. Sky Target (1995, Arcade)
7. Sega Strike Fighter (2000, Arcade)
8. After Burner Climax (2006, Arcade)
9. After Burner - Black Falcon (2007, PSP)


Designed by : Yu Suzuki (YU.)
Music and Sounds : Hiroshi Miyauchi (HIR)
Staff : (YAS), (IWA), (KEN), (PAP), (SAD), (GAK), (NAG), (MKA), (KYO), (MAC), (SUN), (SIM), (KOB)


Sega Master System (1990)
Sega Mega Drive (1991)
Sega Game Gear (1993)

Amstrad CPC (1991, "G-Loc R360")
Atari ST (1992)
Commodore Amiga (1992)
Commodore C64 (1992,"G-Loc R360")
Sinclair ZX Spectrum (1992, "G-Loc R360")


Game's picture.
Game's ROM.
Game's screenshots.
See goodies section.